Other certification schemes

Here, you can gain an overview of some of the most widespread social and environmental certification schemes. (The list is by no means exhaustive):

ISO 14001

ISO 14001 is an environmental management standard developed in 1996 by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), which is a network of national standardization institutes in 148 countries.

ISO 14001 focuses on how companies can minimise their adverse environmental impacts and continuously improve their environmental activities. While the standard does not set out environmental performance requirements, it does establish requirements of the underlying policies, procedures and systems and is designed to support a continuous improvement process.

ISO 14001 certification requires companies to meet the following requirements:

Read more about ISO 14001

OHSAS 18001 

OHSAS 18001 (Occupational Health and Safety Assessment Series) is an international standard for occupational health and safety management developed in cooperation with a large number of national and international organisations, including universities, trade organisations, standardisation bodies, certification bodies and firms of consultants. OHSAS 18001 sets out a number of specifications of requirements for occupational health and safety management, so that companies and organisations can structure their occupational health and safety activities effectively.

The model does not define performance requirements, but solely concerns overall process requirements. The basis for the standardisation work is to ensure compliance with relevant occupational health and safety legislation and to ensure continued development of both the management system and the level of occupational health and safety. The standard covers any person whose work is subject to the supervision and control of a company or organisation.

Like ISO 14001, OHSAS 18001 is structured according to the PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act) circle and therefore contains the same key elements as the ISO 14001 standard. This means that occupational health and safety management systems and environmental management systems can run concurrently without significant difficulties
Read more about OHSAS 18001

Social Accountability 8000 (SA 8000) 
SA 8000 is a business standard that focuses on employee and working conditions within a company and at its suppliers' premises. The standard is based on selected ILO conventions, as well as the UN Human Rights Convention and the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. It was established by the multi-stakeholder organisation, Social Accountability International (SAI).

SA 8000 certification is awarded to companies that meet a number of specific standards for management, procedures and performance in the following nine areas: 

Inspection of a company’s commitment within these nine areas is performed by a number of accreditation and certification bodies under the auspices of Social Accountability International.
Read more here


EMAS is the EU scheme for officially recognised environmental management and stands for: Eco Management and Audit Scheme. In addition to introducing an environmental management system, companies and organisations that wish to achieve EMAS registration must also prepare an environmental report that is publicly available.
Read more about EMAS

Fairtrade Mark
The Fairtrade Mark is an international labelling scheme originally called Max Havelaar. The idea behind the labelling system is to improve the living conditions of some of the world’s poorest farmers and workers by, among other things, assuring them a fair price for their goods and complying with guidelines for working conditions and consideration of the environment.
Read more here

Other Danish Standards certification schemes

In addition to DS 49001 and ISO 26000, Danish Standards has developed a number of standards that focus on specific areas such as energy, the environment, food safety and health.
Read more here

Hjælp os med at forbedre CSR Kompasset.

Vi håber, at du vil deltage i en kort undersøgelse, der kan hjælpe os med at forbedre CSR Kompasset.

Spørgeskemaet åbner op i et nyt vindue, så du kan vente med at udfylde det til du forlader CSR Kompasset.